Essay Prizes

The John William Miller Society at Williams College awards up to one annual essay prize to published scholarship on Miller, scholarly or creative work that advances study of Miller’s philosophy, or that engages closely with thinkers or themes relevant to Miller’s enterprise. Essay prizes range from $5,000-$10,000 on any given academic year.

In order to submit an essay for consideration, it must be published or immediately forthcoming in a reputable peer-reviewed journal of philosophy or a philosophy-adjacent field. Submissions are collected on a rolling basis, any time during the year, with a deadline of August 15 for consideration for the next academic year’s annual prize.

A submission will include:

  • A pdf or full access link to the published article with all publication information clearly indicated.
  • A one page synopsis of the essay’s relevance to Miller’s philosophy, to the study of Miller’s philosophy, or to bodies of knowledge treated by and significant for Miller.
  • A CV and contact information.

Submissions should be emailed to Co-Directors Dr. McGandy ([email protected]) and Dr. Terezakis ([email protected]) with the subject heading: JWMS Essay Prize_Submission.

Past Prize Recipients

Professor Vincent M. Colapietro, Department of Philosophy, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park PA 16802.

Professor Robert S. Corrington, The Theological School, Drew University, Madison NJ 07940.

Dr. Michael J. McGandy, Senior Editor, Cornell University Press, Sage House, 512 East State Street, Ithaca, NY 14850.

Professor Gary H. Stahl, late of Department of Philosophy, University of Colorado, Boulder.