Committee on Diversity & Community

Diversity & Community

The Committee on Diversity and Community (CDC), formerly the Commission on Campus Race Relations (CCRR), is a non-standing committee that focuses on issues of diversity and community on campus and makes recommendations on both curricular and extracurricular matters with the intention of promoting better understanding between and among groups on campus. The Committee, comprising faculty, staff, and students, is charged with examining the health of our Williams community with respect to diversity and inclusion. In addition, the CDC discusses problems and proposes initiatives with regard to the College’s commitment to educate students for engagement with our increasingly diverse world.

The Vice President for Institutional Diversity and Equity solicits faculty nominations from the Faculty Steering Committee, student self-nominations through the College Council, and self-nominations from staff. The two ex officio members are the Vice President for Institutional Diversity and Equity and the Associate Dean for Institutional Diversity and Equity.

Over the years, the CDC has reviewed topics such as staff and faculty recruitment and retention, discrimination and sexual harassment/misconduct grievance procedures, admission and financial aid policies and practices, student orientation and advising training, and student retention and academic success. More recently, the Committee sponsored the Williams Reads project during Winter Study and hosted numerous discussion group sessions. The Committee will continue to explore the intellectual, cultural, and social experiences of the many diverse communities within the wider College community of students, faculty, and staff.

Membership 2017-2018

Quamrul Ashraf
Ondine Chavoya
Pam Harris
Shinko Kagaya, Co-Chair
Ngonidzashe Munemo
Lama Nassif
Zachary Wadsworth

Iara Cury
Leticia Haynes
Christine Menard
Shawna Patterson-Stephens
Rick Spalding
Seth Wax
Sharifa Wright, Co-Chair

Amina Awad ’18
Isabella Huang ’18
Morgan Spellman ’18, Student Chair
Melinda Kan-Dapaah ’20
Isaiah Krugman ’20
Alexandra Medeiros ’20
Ashley Zhou ’20

Warning: extract() expects parameter 1 to be array, boolean given in /opt/wpmu/trunk/wordpress/wp-content/themes/theme_williams/footer.php on line 16